Book Review Competition Winner; And New Writing Competition

​”Commitment is an act, not a word.” -Jean-Paul Sartre

Recently, I began a new book review competition; participants were challenged to write a book review, consisting of less than 50 words. Although I wrote a blog post on this topic earlier this week, it has come to my attention that I did recieve an entry:

The Secret Of Our Success came recommended by Robin Hanson (http://www.overcomingbias.com/2015/12/how-plastic-are-values.html), a book on how culture co-evolves with genes. You will learn that we humans are not especially smart animals; put in an unfamiliar environment, we struggle to create or figure out the basic foods, tools and shelter needed to survive, that would have been passed down accumulatively from our ancestors in hunter-gatherer eras, as well as how inventions were often lost, re-discovered, and lost again, and why the spread of monogamy beginning around 600 may have helped fuel innovation until today. To quote Robin, “I felt like I learned more from his book than from the last dozen books I’ve read.”

This book review, written by Daniel,  This book review, written by Daniel, is slightly over the specefied word limited, however I will accept it, due to the fact that it was an informative and interesting review. Thank you for your continued support of UpontheHearth.

_________________________________________________________________

There is a new writing competition, upon the theme of ‘Nature’;

Entries must be written using the syllabalic structute of a haiku, however do not need to follow any other conventions of a haiku.

The winner of the competition, will be featured in all blog posts for two weeks, and other participants, will also be featured in an ‘review’ blog post.

To enter, please send me your work using the ‘Contact’ section of my blog.

 

The closing date for the competition is the 15th of June.

 

Thank you for taking part!

