Florence – A Short Story :

“When we speak we are afraid our words will not be heard or welcomed. But when we are silent, we are still afraid. So it is better to speak.” -Audre Lorde

I stare at the gristly darkening sky, a glimpse of the darkest heart of winter. A pale ghostly moon, swims among a bed of clouds. The bitter darkness creeps up my fingers, as I wonder “Should I meet him?”

Toby Krill. The warming name rolls off the tongue. Toby, I know little of him, but what I imagine is handsome. Toby; the boy I met online.

I walk along the cobbles, seeming so familiar yet so distant. Poignant in my mind is every crack, every crevice; each step seems to filter back  into my mind an inkling of a weakened dilute solution. I have walked this road before, but when?

Toby had sent texts… Texts of love mostly. They puzzled me ‘He wants me home?’. I had never even met the man…

A gush of adamantine wind pushes me towards the door of 25 Marlicent Street.With great uncertainty of the future ahead, I rap gently on the door. Seemingly, after a moment of infinity, a man opens the door and smiles: “Welcome home, Florence Krill.”

_________________________________________________________________

There is a new creative writing competition on the theme of ‘The Future’.

The piece may follow any format, such as poetry or non-fiction, providing that it totals less than 2500 characters (not including the title or any footnotes).

All participants will have their work shared and blogs linked to, however the winner’s work will be featured and blog linked to for a fortnight.

To enter, please use the contact section, or email me at:

uponthehearth@gmail.com

 

The deadline for the competition is the tenth of February…

Thank you for taking part!

