Together.

“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” -Thomas A. Edison

The wind slashes at my exposed side,

Leaving my skin sore and broken.

The emptiness of my palm,

As it rests upon the splintered bench.

 

Water droplets trickle down my face,

In place of the ready and often tears.

An empty void within my heart.

Broken memories built throughout the years.

 

The words that I left at your bedside.

Now rest upon my weary head.

Wishes for one day again, forever

Playing the fateful moment again and again.

 

One day we shall be together,

You and I, side by side.

Never shall my thoughts me clouded,

Of the day I took, thee my bride…

 

(Please do not copy or reproduce this poem without permission)

_________________________________________________________________

There is a new 25 word (25 and under) writing competition on the theme of Childhood; it may be a real account or fictional piece and the deadline is the 15th of January .

Every entrant shall have their work published and blogs linked to, except the winner who will be linked to for a fortnight.

To submit an entry, please send me your piece using the contacts section at the top of the page or email me at:

uponthehearth@gmail.com

 

Thank you for taking part!

2 thoughts on “Together.

Comments are closed.