Medley #6: Unique Words and Music

“There is no charm equal to the tenderness of the heart.” – Jane Austen

Recently, whilst looking at an online dictionary, I found a number of unique words. Below I have listed a few of my strangest discoveries, which may be useful in a number of writing pieces:

Dactylion –

  1. The tip of the middle finger

 

Gallimaufry –

  1. A heterogeneous mixture: jumble

 

Pastiche –

  1. a literary, artistic, musical, or architectural work that imitates the style of previous work; also :  such stylistic imitation
  2. a musical, literary, or artistic composition made up of selections from different works

 

Leptosome –

  1. an ectomorphic individual (a person with a lean and delicate body build)

 

(Taken from the Merriam-Webster dictionary)

 

 

Pogonotrophy –

  1. The act of cultivating, or growing and grooming, a mustache, beard, sideburns or other facial hair

 

Scripturient –

  1. Possessing a violent desire to write

 

Vernalagnia –

  1. A romantic mood brought on by Spring

 

Xenization –

  1. The act of traveling as a stranger

 

Montivagant –

  1. Wandering over hills and mountains

 

(Taken from this website)

 

I Dreamed A Dream:

Initially, I wanted to upload a track of myself playing this piece, however I decided not to, due to the fact I didn’t want to spoil such a beautiful song. Taken from the musical ‘Les Miserables’, sung by the character Fantine during the show:

 

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

 

