Gingerbread

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” -Winston Churchill

Gingerbread,

You made a snap

Our dreams crumbled down.

 

No longer could I wear a frosted face,

You knew it hurt

Put me out of place.

 

No buttons of pride,

The only man you could catch

I should never of pulled open…

 

That fateful oven latch.

 

(Please don’t copy or reproduce this poem without permission)

_________________________________________________________________

The deadline for the haiku writing competition has been postponed…

The haiku may be follow the normal syllable pattern 5 7 5 or traditional Japanese style. For assistance with this click here.

The competition will run up to the 20th of December and may follow any theme. The winner’s work will be published on my blog and I will link to them in all posts for a fortnight.
To enter, either message me your entry using the contacts section or alternatively, email me:
uponthehearth@gmail.com

 

Thank you for taking part!

One thought on “Gingerbread

Comments are closed.