Trust: (A poem)

​”Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” -Confucius

This is a poem I wrote, based on the theme of trust:

You hold my hand

Supporting me: 

Just taking my first steps again.
You left scars

Sleepless nights,

Imprinting circles under my eyes.

You left scars,

The things you said,    

Gashes and cracks

On my smooth skin.

You left scars.   
An Icarus who learns to spread his wings,
Growing in confidence

Then…                                                   
It burns.

It burns

The tears you caused,

The burning in my throat,

Like chlorine it stings.

It burns,
The image you imprinted in my brain,

The one of distress and distrust
It burns…

(Please do not copy or reproduce this poem without permission)

_____________________________

Remember to enter the creative writing competition on the theme ‘nightmares’.
It may be a story, poem or anything!
The winner’s work will be posted on my blog and I will link to them for one week.

To enter either use the contact form to send your writing or email me at: uponthehearth@gmail.com

The deadline is the 20th of November (I have already recieved one, topical yet interesting.. piece)!

