A Recipe For Disaster? (Medley #3 Baking and Music)

“I do not know anyone who has got to the top without hard work. That is the recipe. It will not always get you to the top, but should get you pretty near. -Margaret Thatcher

A recipe for disaster,

In my opinion no, however….

 

Today I decided, for once to try some ‘Halloweeny’ cooking. As I was carving pumpkins with family a thought occured to me to bake roasted pumpkin seeds. Each batch had a different flavouring.

The results:

20161030_112703.jpg

This was my first batch. Although they had a nice texture they were a little too salty for my liking: remarkably the seeds also tasted like popcorn.of seeds and pumpkin gunk. To clean them out in preparation for cooking, put them through a sieve and wash the seeds. The gunk should be washed away and the seeds left.

At this point you may either leave the seeds to dry or continue to coat and bake thwater-942859_1920em. When I was baking them I did not let them dry.

There are many wild flavours and tastes

 

The Recipe:

To make the snack, firstly gut a pumpkin! It is less gruesome than its sounds though it can get messy.

You should be left with a slimy residue

that can be created however I used, salt, salt and pepper and Ras El Hanout to coat my seeds. Another flavour to try is cinnamon and nutmeg for a festive flavour.

To coat the seeds, firstly spread out the seeds on a baking tray and drizzle with olive oil. This will help the coating stick.

From here we can bake our seeds! Put them on 180 degrees centergrade (fan) for 20 minutes and enjoy!20161030_112752.jpg

20161030_112811.jpg

 

Ingredients List:

A drizzle of olive oil

Pumpkin Seeds

Additional flavourings you may like (I recommend sea salt and pepper)

 

Memory:

This week I was unable to perform a piece of music due to problems with soundcloud. However I have linked a piece of music, from a musical which I like:

 

_________________________________________________________________

Remember to enter the creative writing competition on the theme ‘nightmares’.

It may be a story, poem or anything!

The winner’s work will be posted on my blog and I will link to them for one week.

To enter either use the contact form to send your writing or email me at: uponthehearth@gmail.com

